|Limitations on Charges, Billing, and Collections|
|California law limits hospital billing and collection practices.
California limits the amounts hospitals may charge patients with income not exceeding 350 percent of the federal poverty level. Cal. Health & Safety Code §12705. Hospitals must have written policies specifying when and under whose authority patient debt is referred for collection. Cal. Health & Safety Code §127425(a). For uninsured patients and those with high medical costs, the hospital or assignees of hospital debt owed by a “financially qualified” patient may not, until 150 days after the initial billing, report adverse information concerning the patient to a consumer credit reporting agency and may not commence an action against the patient in civil court. Cal. Health & Safety Code §127425(d). Additional details concerning a patient’s property rights and limits on hospital payment practices are set forth in Cal. Health & Safety Code §§127425-127430.