|Limitations on Charges, Billing, and Collections|
|Nevada law limits hospital charges and billing and collection practices.
Nevada requires nonprofit and for-profit hospitals with 200 or more beds to reduce by at least 30 percent the total charges billed for inpatient medical services to patients who are uninsured, ineligible for publicly funded health coverage, and make reasonable arrangements within 30 days after the hospital sends a bill that notifies them of available discounts and eligibility criteria. Nev. Rev. Stat. §§439B.260 (1) –(2).
Before undertaking collection efforts against patients who are insured or who may be eligible for public insurance, a hospital must have submitted its claim for hospital services to the third-party payer and received a determination as to payment. Nev. Rev. Stat. §449.757.